Room with a View
Situated in the picturesque rolling hills of the White River Valley of southern Indiana, the Williams house stands as one of the largest frame mid-nineteenth century houses in rural Martin County. The house was constructed c.1850 for the Williams family, Quakers who migrated to the area from Tennessee in 1817. When completed, the house presented an imposing three story structure on a sandstone foundation. Local tradition holds that the third story was removed in the early twentieth century and its materials used to construct a nearby residence. The removal of the third story resulted in the current hipped roof configuration with wide open eaves, now covered by a metal roof. One of the original four brick chimneys remains above the present roof.
With 3,000 square feet of living space on two floors, the Williams house features a center hall plan with imposing open staircase. Four large rooms flank the center hall on each floor, each boasting a fireplace with original mantels, wide board poplar flooring, and woodwork throughout. There is one bathroom that has been incorporated into the back of the first floor hall. An open staircase leads from the second floor to an unfinished attic, suitable for storage. The house retains its original divided light wooden windows and many of the original louvered shutters. The front door is framed by sidelights and a transom window. Large sandstone blocks comprise the foundation and line the walls of the partial basement, which features additional dressed sandstone check walls leading down the basement stairs and a large stone column supporting a massive center beam.
The 40-acre property includes a frame summer kitchen with an impressive dressed stone mantel with original wrought iron cooking crane, as well as a smoke house and chicken house. The site includes both tillable acreage and wooded ravines and hillsides with expansive picturesque views. The house is for sale for $240,000 with approximately 40 acres, though the owner is willing to sell the house with reduced acreage at a lesser price.
The Williams house is located on State Road 450 North approximately 16 miles north of the town of Shoals, the county seat. The property is 33 miles south of Bloomington and equidistant from Indianapolis and Louisville, KY, at 85 miles. Nearby attractions include Williams Dam and Covered Bridge and the famed Martin County “Jug Rock”.