Sign In




Sign up for our free e-newsletter!

About Us > Awards



Each year, Indiana Landmarks recognizes outstanding achievements related to preservation. We are proud to highlight the efforts of individuals and groups who save and celebrate historic places.


The Cook Cup

Sandi Servaas Memorial Award

John Arnold Award for Rural Preservation

Regional awards for preservation



The Cook Cup


Indiana Landmarks awards The Cook Cup to the owner of a significant historic structure that has been restored following the highest standards in method, materials and design. The selection committee looks for a restoration that has had a significant, beneficial  impact on its neighborhood or community.


The nominee may be an individual, corporation or partnership, nonprofit organization, or government entity. The restoration must have been completed within the past two years, and the structure must be in active use for its original purpose or adapted to a new purpose.)

The winner will receive an engraved silver cup on April 25, 2015, at Indiana Landmarks’ annual Rescue Party in Indianapolis, with complimentary admission for two to the event, as well as recognition in Indiana Preservationist magazine and in a release to media.


Nomination deadline: Monday, January 25, 2016

Download the nomination form


Read more about the 2015 winners of Indiana Landmarks' Cook Cup.



The Sandi Servaas Memorial Award


The Sandi Servaas Memorial Award recognizes outstanding achievement across the broad spectrum of historic preservation in three categories:

  • nonprofit organization, public institution, or public agency;
  • individual or corporation;
  • teacher, school program, or youth-serving agency.

The Servaas Award judges look for a compelling narrative that conveys how the nominee:


  • displayed high standards and success in historic preservation;
  • benefited a neighborhood, town or place.


    Activities—individually or in combination—that might warrant a nomination include (but are not limited to): success in saving or protecting historic places; campaigns, programs or events that substantially raised preservation awareness; sustained educational programs that engage young people in preservation or elevated their appreciation of landmarks. We welcome self nominations.


    Note: Indiana Landmarks' award for brick-and-mortar achievement is not the Servaas Award; our Cook Cup for Outstanding Restoration is given each April.


    Prizes: The winning nonprofit organization receives $2,000, and $1,000 each goes to the winners in the individual/corporate and youth-serving categories. Each winner also takes home an original Servaas Memorial Award sculpture, “No Doors to Lock out the Past,” by Indiana artist John McNaughton.


    Indiana Landmarks will present the Servaas Award at our annual meeting in Indianapolis on September 12, 2015. The winning organization will receive complimentary admission for two to the event. 


    Nomination deadline: Friday, May 8, 2015

    Download the nomination form


    Servaas Award background:  At her untimely death in 1975, Sandi Servaas worked for Indiana Landmarks, generating public awareness and support for preservation. To remember Sandi’s contributions and dynamic spirit, Indiana Landmarks and the Servaas family established the annual Sandi Servaas Memorial Award in 1976.




    John Arnold Award for Rural Preservation


    Indiana Landmarks pres­ents the John Arnold Rural Preservation Award to recognize the preservation and continued use of historic farming-related buildings. The award is named in memory of John Arnold (1955-1991), a Rush County farmer who combined progressive archi­tectural practices with a deep respect for the natural and historic components of rural landscapes, including the farm owned by his family since 1820.


    Indiana Landmarks presents the Arnold Award each year on Farmer's Day at the Indiana State Fair. The award winner re­ceives a pass to the fair, overnight accom­modations in Indianapolis, plus a hand­some outdoor marker.


    For more information about the Arnold Award, contact Tommy Kleckner, 812-232-4534,


    Nomination deadline: Friday, May 8, 2015

    Download the nomination form 




    Regional awards for preservation


    Each year, Indiana Landmarks' regional offices recognize projects that exemplify preservation and stewardship of historic places. These projects can include continued use of historic structures, outstanding restorations, adaptive use of historic properties, and more. Winners receive custom-designed framed awards presented during our annual regional moveable feasts. If you know a project you believe deserves accolades, contact the regional office nearest you.

    Indiana Landmarks Join or Renew Donate