Indiana Landmarks announces new directors and officers

Six new directors join board of statewide preservation group.

Indiana Landmarks’ board of directors has elected six new directors and announced officers for its next governance year.

The following newly elected directors will serve three-year terms.

Bruce Buchanan, Indianapolis is the fourth-generation owner of the funeral home Buchanan Group/Flanner Buchanan, Inc., and a sixth-generation Hoosier, passionate about his family’s 200-year history in Indianapolis. Prior to joining the family business, he spent 20 years in visual communications and remains an active photographer.

Sarah Evans Barker, Morgantown has served since 1984 as a judge of the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Indiana. Born and raised in Mishawaka, she is a self-proclaimed history buff and has served on boards of numerous judicial, civic, and cultural organizations, including the State of Indiana Bicentennial Commission. In 2010, she was named a Living Legend by the Indiana Historical Society.

Emily J. Harrison, Attica is an active volunteer with Fountain County Landmarks, Attica Main Street, and the Attica Public Library. Part of an extended family with deep roots in the community, she lives in a restored circa 1848 home in Attica’s West Brady Street Historic District.

Sarah Lechleiter, Indianapolis is a devoted civic volunteer serving on the boards of Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra and Indiana Repertory Theatre, and a founding member of United Way of Central Indiana’s Women United. She and husband John Lechleiter have jointly received numerous honors for their philanthropic work, including the Indiana State Museum’s Heritage Keeper Award and Indiana’s Sagamore of the Wabash.

Shelby Moravec, La Porte, a serial restorer of historic homes in both Chicago and Indiana, serves on the board of Beverly Shores’ Depot Museum and was a founding member of Chicago’s Ukrainian Village Preservation Society, leading to local protections for the threatened neighborhood.

David Resnick, Carmel is managing partner of Katz, Sapper & Miller, an Indianapolis-based public accounting firm. In honor of the firm’s 75th anniversary in 2017, he oversaw restoration of the Indianapolis City Market Clock in partnership with Indiana Landmarks. He is active on the board of many civic and cultural organizations, including United Way of Central Indiana, Beth-El Zedeck Foundation, Indy Chamber, and WFYI Foundation, among others.

The following board officers will serve one-year terms ending in September 2021.

Hon. Randall T. Shepard, Indianapolis, Honorary Chair
Sara Edgerton, Indianapolis, Chair
Parker Beauchamp, Wabash, Past Chair
Doris Anne Sadler, Indianapolis, Vice Chair
Marsh Davis, Indianapolis, President
Brett D. McKamey, Westfield, Treasurer
Hilary Barnes, Indianapolis, Secretary and Assistant Treasurer
Thomas Engle, Indianapolis, Assistant Secretary
Judy A. O’Bannon, Indianapolis, Secretary Emerita

About Indiana Landmarks
Indiana Landmarks revitalizes communities, reconnects us to our heritage, and saves meaningful places. With nine offices located throughout the state, Indiana Landmarks helps people rescue endangered landmarks and restore historic neighborhoods and downtowns. People who join Indiana Landmarks receive its bimonthly magazine, Indiana Preservation. For more information on the not-for-profit organization, call 317-639-4534, 800-450-4534, or visit

# # #

Media Contact:
Mindi Woolman, Director of Marketing and Communications, Indiana Landmarks, office 317-639-4534,


Sign up for our e-newsletter.

Stay up to date on the latest news, stories, and events from Indiana Landmarks, around the state or in your area.